Moving to Rivendell and Playing in My Athasian Sandbox

I haven’t posted in some time and that is because my fiance and I have moved from our run down apartment in Albany, New York to a very nice townhouse in East Rochester.  It was a very hectic move as everything that could go wrong almost did.  Our car’s master cylinder fried itself a week before the move.  I got sick before and after the move.  I had a job interview two days after our move.  And, of course, because my fiance and I are from the Finger Lakes area, the past week has been one filled with “we need to get together and have lunch/dinner/beers with insert family/friend/acquaintence here>.”  Not that I mind…it’s just hectic.

Our new home is nestled amidst a wooded area that is absolutely beautiful.  Rivendell was the first thing that came to mind when I saw it.  The only thing missing is a river and some elves…(and, of course, if I had the One Ring, the whole job situation would be the least of my worries!)

In a few hours my old gaming group is getting together to play Dark Sun with yours truly as the Dungeon Master.  I am very excited to play, for it has been at least three years since I have played with these guys and five or so years since I have really DMed a session.  I have spent a lot of time trying to find ways to get my buddies into the “feel” of Dark Sun.  That has involved a series of House Rules that I will be experimenting with as well as background music to play.     

To make Dark Sun more brutal, I am incorporating critical hit charts and critical fumble charts that are based on damage type.  Included in these charts is the chance for an instant kill.  Calculated it is approximately .017% chance that on any given attack roll, someone is going to be killed instantly. I like that.  I have also included the 2nd Edition weapon materials rules that modify attack and damage based on the materials used to make the weapon.  I suspect that after a few sessions we will stop using this rule as I am finding it to be a tedious addition to my own NPCs and monsters while writing adventures.

The background music I have selected include the Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures Soundtrack from the online video game.  It is incredible and fits perfectly.  I plan on adding the original Conan Soundtracks to the playlist. In addition, I am adding some pieces by Lisa Gerrard (of Dead Can Dance fame).  Her particular and unique vocal style and language add a otherwordly quality that I think will enhance the gaming experience.

In any event, it is six in the morning and I have approximately ten hours before we begin playing…I can’t wait.

Comments are closed.